Change is scary – But it doesn’t have to be!


Dr Tae Yun Kim Quotes

At work, there is a lot of change going on right now in my department.  I find that it is too easy to fall into worry about what the outcome will be.  It reminded me of a section in Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim‘s book, The Silent Master, where she writes:

“We make up our minds ahead of time about how something will be instead of remaining open to the unexpected.” 

I definitely find myself falling into that old habit.  But, knowing what my tendency is helps me to see that I don’t have to think like that.  I can change my thinking and I do choose to change my thinking.  Now, all the unknown is seen as an adventure, rather than something to be wary about. 

Dr Tae Yun Kim Quotes

Embrace change

I am now focused on the goodness of the change that is going on, because I do know that it is for the greater good.  It is an incredible learning and growing experience.

One response to “Change is scary – But it doesn’t have to be!

Leave a Reply

