Can I Take Charge of My Life in 3 to 5 Minutes?


Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim said recently that all we need is 3 to 5 minutes in which we can set our attitude, set the course of our day and to take charge.  What???  I can’t get anything done in 3 to 5 minutes! 

She went on to clarify that instead of trying to focus on my goals for an entire day, only focus on what I want to accomplish for 3 to 5 minutes.  Then, after that period of time is done, do it again.  In other words, cut the elephant-sized task down to ant-sized pieces.  Be aware of my time and how I manage it. 

 

I then went on to recognize that when I have some looming deadline coming up, I can focus on what I need to get done for that deadline.  But, I really can’t seem to do anything else.  For example, the other day I had a critical meeting in the afternoon.  I had already prepared what I needed to discuss.  But, in the interim, I found myself very unproductive.  My mind was so focused on worrying about the outcome of the meeting, I couldn’t get anything else done. 

Then, because I had that entire expanse of time that I felt wasn’t put to good use, I felt like I had wasted all that time.  While I do know that obsessing about something that is out of my control isn’t productive, I do know that I have the power to change my actions.  I can’t control a situation, but I do have the power to control how I react to the situation.

Leave a Reply

