Gratitude!


It is Independence Day here in the United States of America.  Happy Birthday America!!!

Whatever personal beliefs we have, I have found that having gratitude needs to be at the core of my heart and thoughts. 

As I was showering this morning, I thought of how lucky I am to have a constant supply of clean water.  I thought about how amazing water is and of many things that I use water for.  I thought of how I take water for granted every day, many times each day. 

Several weeks ago, the water company had to shut down the water on my street.  It was SO inconvenient and I wondered why the water company couldn’t time the shut down better so it didn’t disrupt as much.  I caught myself feeling indignation and then realized what a bad and ungrateful attitude I had. 

I stopped myself and told myself to be grateful for what I have.  My temporary discomfort was nothing compared to the work the water company was doing out in the hot sun all day, not to mention all the people around the world that don’t even see water on a daily basis. 

I was reminded of something that Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim wrote about awareness & water, and I applied that to my own recognition of gratitude:

“Ideally, your awareness should be like a pool of still water. Light travels easily into still water, and you can see right into it. It becomes very clear. But when the wind blows and the water is agitated, or when the water is polluted, you can’t see what’s in it clearly.”

 Seven Steps to Inner Power

Leave a Reply

