Give Help When it is Needed, Not When it is Convenient


I was driving to work the other day and was in a bit of a hurry.  In the lane on my left was a mini-van and I noticed that the rear tire was almost completely out of air.  My mind set was to keep going on my way, knowing that I had a meeting to prepare for.  But, instead, I drove along side the mini-van and tried to get the attention of the passenger.  It appeared to be a mother driving and her daughter in the passenger seat.  It took a while, and when the daughter finally looked at me, I pointed at the rear tire.  She turned around and looked in the back seat, and the driver did the same thing, then she looked back at me with a look that said “are you a crazy lady?”

Then, I tried to make the motion of rolling down the car window and she didn’t understand that at all.  I guess it has been a few years since cars came equipped with windows that needed to be manually rolled down, instead of pushing a button.

She finally opened the window and I was able to tell her that the tire was going flat.  They slowed down and I drove off and watched them pull over to the side of the road.  I felt really good inside and thought that maybe that one small action might have prevented a car accident from occuring due to a flat tire.

I was reminded of a Bible passage that Dr. Tae Yun Kim shared with us a while back.   Proverbs 3:27: “Do not withhold good from those who deserve it, when it is in your power to act.  Do not say to your neighbor, “Come back later; I’ll give it tomorrow – when you now have it with you.”

I recognized that when I stopped thinking about my own needs and thought of my neighbor (the mini-van people), it was very rewarding.  I also know that had this occurred at night, I would have pulled over and stayed with them until others came to help them.  No meeting would have been that important to not stop and help.

I am grateful for that awareness when this happened, and grateful I was able to put aside my own needs.

This also reminded me of how Dr. Kim writes in Seven Steps to Inner Power, “Awareness Happens Only Now.”  To summarize, if my mind is too busy thinking about the past or future, I miss out on the present moment.

2 responses to “Give Help When it is Needed, Not When it is Convenient

Leave a Reply

