Give Me My Good Attitude, NOW!


I woke up this morning and was shocked to discover that my good attitude was taken away from me sometime between the time I went to bed and when I woke up.  What an outrage!  Why did that have to happen to me?  Who do I need to call or email in order to get it back?  I feel ripped off!

I hit my snooze button and figured that would help things get back on track.  After testing that theory out several times without success, I dragged myself out of bed and started getting ready for the day, definitely not feeling ready for anything.

I was reminded of the 5th Principle of Mental Conduct from Jung SuWon Martial Art Academy:  HAVE A POSITIVE MENTAL ATTITUDE.

Ok, now I knew what I needed to do.  I needed a tune-up for my attitude.  I have the knowledge of how to do that from my training with Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim.   For the times when my mornings don’t start out very well, it is up to me to decide how to proceed.  Do I let myself feel dragged down and sluggish, or do I tell myself to perk up and be grateful that I was given another day to live?

Sometimes I need that type of a wake-up call to remind myself that each day I am alive, it is a gift, not an expectation or a requirement.  It is up to me how I perform and produce.  I certainly don’t like feeling sluggish, and from my own experience, I do know that my positive thoughts can change how I feel.  I just have to make the choice to think that way. 

So, yes, my day improved dramatically and my good attitude was restored!  I’ll be sure to keep a close eye on my attitude before going to bed tonight to ensure that it is still with me when I wake up tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

