Your Thoughts Create Your Reality – A Warrior at Lake Tahoe


I just got back from a short trip to Lake Tahoe with my family, and it was a really wonderful trip!  Where I live in California, there are so many places that are close by to visit, yet I so often find myself thinking that I just don’t have the time to go anywhere. 

Dr. Tae Yun Kim tells us that “Your thoughts create your reality” and that holds true for both positive and negative thinking.  If I tell myself I’m too busy to do something, then that is what is going to happen.  Nothing is going to magically occur to change my environment, I’m the one in the driver’s seat. 

It was refreshing to spend time outdoors, away from the sounds of cars, phones and computers.  It was a much slower pace than what I’m used to on daily basis.  I gained an appreciation for being able to slow down, and I gained an appreciation for all of the blessings that I have in my life.  On one hand, it was great to recharge, spend time in nature and not think about deadlines, reports, etc.  On the other hand, being able to step out of my normal environment really refreshed my gratitude for what I have in my daily life.

It’s so easy for me to complain or get stressed, and easy to overlook my blessings.  But, what if I had nothing to complain about?  I surely don’t expect things to always go perfectly.  If things didn’t go wrong, I’d never know what it felt like to overcome obstacles to achieve goals. 

It’s so easy to forget the kind things that people do for me.  Not that I want to forget, but ultimately, if I choose to focus on things to complain about, that doesn’t leave a lot of room for me to show appreciation. 

Here is a picture of me standing high above the lake:

A view of the south shore

Here is a picture of me doing a side kick – my brother tried to take the picture and it is all about the timing.  This picture was probably my 10th side kick while he tried to snap the picture at the right time. 

Side Kick

Here is a picture of me standing in front of a really big tree, at a park called “Big Trees”:

One response to “Your Thoughts Create Your Reality – A Warrior at Lake Tahoe

Leave a Reply

