Appreciation, Gratitude and Forgiveness


I am thinking about appreciation, gratitude and forgiveness today.  Our lives need more of this, our world needs more of this.  Myself included, it seems we all need reminders to be more appreciative, to complain less, to reach out more, blame others less, to help others more.  It really does feel good to take the high road and not succumb to the temptation to argue and fight and blame. 

I personally think it is so important to forgive people who have hurt us.  Forgiving let’s us bring peace into ourselves.  It doesn’t release blame or let’s the other person off of the hook, but it helps to bring peace in our hearts.  I’ve had experiences where I was so incredibly hurt by different people and all I could focus on was my own hurt, how wrong they were, how bad they were, how unfair it was to me.  I didn’t know it at the time, but because I had those feelings so deeply, in a sense, I was reliving those experiences over and over and over.  I was letting myself feel that hurt constantly.  The people who hurt me, they moved on and were doing whatever.  They most likely had no idea of how bad I felt.  It was I that was keeping it alive within me.  It was only myself that was suffering.  I was the one doing that to myself. 

Once I started training under Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim, I started to learn more about discovering who I am and what events or situations I was letting hold me back from being free. 

In Seven Steps to Inner Power, page 30, Dr. Tae Yun Kim writes “Negative energy creates negative manifestations.  Hateful thoughts, for instance, create broken relationship, wars and weapons, physical disease of all kinds.  Positive energy creates positive manifestations.  Loving thoughts create harmonious organizations, cooperative governments, and healings of all kinds of discord.  It’s very simple, really.”

Also, in The Silent Master, page 46, Dr. Tae Yun Kim writes, “A big part of the readiness phase of self-discovery is the elimination of the old to make room for the new.  This may require much forgiveness on your part, because forgiveness is the way you release the past.”  And on page 47, Dr. Kim writes “Unfortunately, forgiveness can seem to demand the ultimate unwilling sacrifice.  So much tempts us to hate and resent and be angry when we feel wronged.  We don’t easily sacrifice those feelings, and forgiveness almost seems to hurt when we’re called upon to do it.  But if you can do it, you find release, not loss.  With forgiveness, you find freedom to create the new, unhindered by past impressions.”

So, for me, I will forgive the person that cut me off on the road that almost caused me to get into an accident.  I will forgive the person that parked behind my car and prevented me from being able to leave the parking lot.  I’ll start with that and work my way backwards so that I can release those hurtful emotions that are within me so that I will feel better and be a better person.  I also pray that God forgives me of my own sins and wrongs that I have done to others.

6 responses to “Appreciation, Gratitude and Forgiveness

  1. I totally agree : letting go is one of the hardest things to do – at least it was for me;) Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:)

  2. It is really inspiring to read your messages, Ma’am and the examples that you gave in this blog. Thank you for sharing Great Grandmaster’s teaching and I am also thankful that I have many instructors at Jung SuWon like you that I can look up to.

  3. I simply want to say I’m all new to blogging and certainly loved this web blog. More than likely I’m want to bookmark your website . You absolutely have amazing stories. Thanks a lot for sharing with us your blog site.

  4. Yes, yes, yes. It is all in our Attitude. Stuff happens… but WE DECIDE how WE FEEL about it. We choose our view.
    The Way of the Warrior!

  5. Really nice. Forgive and let go. I love Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim teachings. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

