Tae Yun Kim gives challenges which result in rewards


It’s been a busy start of this New Year!  One of my goals was to start helping in classes for our younger warriors.  I’ve started attending the 6:00 PM classes on Mondays and Wednesdays and I end up working with a wide variety of students at Jung SuWon.  It has been absolutely amazing!

Great Grandmaster, Dr. Tae Yun Kim gives us so many opportunities to learn about ourselves and others.  We just have to be aware to see those opportunities and then grab them. 

At first, I was a bit fearful of what it would be like to stand in front of several young students while helping them work on their forms, their basics and techniques.   I knew classes were only an hour long, so I knew that I only had to make it through one hour of being fearful and it would be all done. 

However, I discovered that I really enjoyed helping them!  In this class, they are all different ages, from 6 on up to teenagers.  I found myself very stimulated trying to work with students of such a wide variety of ages.  Whatever fear I had has been replaced by excitement and being challenged. 

I’ve learned their names, I’ve learned which students are fidgeters, which are very focused, I’ve learned which ones have a hard time paying attention.  We have a stripe testing this Saturday the 21st and I am very excited to see how they’ve progressed over the past month and a half.

I feel very responsible to help pass on the teachings to them from Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim.   I know that what I have had the privilege to learn from Dr. Kim directly has made TREMENDOUS improvements in my life.  When I see it in the eyes of the young children as they catch a glimpse of this, it is a truly awesome feeling.  Helping people is very rewarding indeed!

On February 7th, Dr. Kim celebrated her birthday with the homeless at the City Team Ministries.  It was an amazing event and I will post videos as soon as they are available.

Leave a Reply

