You have to be aware and responsible


One of the financial tips that I was going to recommend just backfired in my face & caused my credit score to drop by 61 points!!!  I pay $12.95 per month to freecreditreport.com for them to monitor my credit.  I am able to view my Experian credit report at any time for free and I thought I was also getting some protection from the big bad credit card companies. 

Well, back in June, I closed one of my credit cards after I paid it off in all.  I saw that it was correctly reported to Experian as closed.  Seemed like a done deal to me.  However I just learned that around the same time, that credit card company was bought by a different company, who not only re-opened my account, but they enrolled me in some rewards program that cost $39.95 a year.  They claim they sent out a letter and my non-response would indicate my approval. 

Silly me.  I checked my credit report today & was shocked to see that I am over 30 days late in paying for the rewards program that I never signed up for!!!  And of course, they tacked on late fees & interest!!!

Not only did I get screwed but my precious $12.95 that I pay each month to freecreditreport.com for credit monitoring didn’t even notify me of this!  I ONLY found out because I checked my credit report today.  I’ve had credit cards for about 20 years & this is the first time EVER that I have ever had a late payment or a negative comment on my credit report & it wasn’t even my fault!  I so SO livid right now & am going to be complaining like crazy!

The credit card company blamed me, but in the end, they refunded the $71.49 ($39.95 plus late fees plus interest) and are faxing me a letter to state they will report this to Experian in 1 to 3 months.  And, freecreditreport.com will be refunding me $12.95 for their error, which I don’t feel is equitable by any means, but it is a start. 

Anyway, I feel like a very small fish in the huge ocean of credit card companies right now, but I am a fighter and will continue to pursue this matter.  I’m sure I’m not the only victim out there. 

So, overall, be aware & even though this may sound pessimistic, if things ‘can’ go wrong, they probably will.  You need to check, check and then double-check again.   This gives me pause to remember that I am the driver in my life, as taught to me by Dr. Tae Yun Kim of Jung SuWon Martial Arts School.  He Can Do, She Can Do, Why Not Me!

I admit that I felt a bit defeated when I saw my credit score drop by so much & when I was told that this was all my fault.  But no, that isn’t correct.  If anyone knows how I can let others know what happened to me, please let me know.  I’m a fighter and won’t be pushed around or bullied.

One response to “You have to be aware and responsible

  1. hey, check out Bank of America’s Privacy Assist…I used to do the freecreditreport.com for 12.95…but you only get 1 credit score. With BofA’s Privacy Assist, for $9.99/month, you get all 3 credit scores..unlimited access… this one seems much more thorough & a better deal!

Leave a Reply

